“They just carry on crafting these gorgeous wines with uncommon sensitivity, great intuition and with just one aim in mind: elegance”

– Anne Krebiehl MW

Weingut Rudolf Fürst has a long tradition. The Franconian family Fürst can document their history as winegrowers back to 1638. Paul’s father, who died at a very early age, had a small farm in the old town of Bürgstadt. He raised animals and cultivated fruit trees, vines and even tobacco, which was once common in the region.

When Paul and Monika Fürst took over the winery in 1979, they built today’s estate buildings on the outskirts of the village. The winery lies nestled in the heart of the Centgrafenberg vineyard with a magnificent view of the medieval half-timbered village of Miltenberg. Because the land was parcelled off through the inheritance of successive generations, the remaining vineyard area covered only 1.5 hectares. Family Fürst renovated and re-cultivated the particularly beautiful, steep parcels in the best sites. They gradually expanded the vineyard area to the current 21 hectares, 60 % of which is planted to Spätburgunder (Pinot Noir).

At a time when the cultivation and vinification of top quality Spätburgunder was not yet a topic in Germany, Paul Fürst and a handful of renowned German vintner friends were already engaged in a lively exchange with leading Pinot Noir wineries in Burgundy, Oregon and the Bündner Herrschaft in Switzerland. The declared goal was to learn about the intricacies of the variety and gain knowledge in the fine art of producing great Spätburgunder. This pioneering work began to bear fruit in 1989 when the first breakthrough was achieved.

After completing his studies in viticulture and oenology in Geisenheim and gaining experience in Burgundy, Alsace, Spain, South Africa and top wineries in Germany, Sebastian Fürst joined the family enterprise in 2007. One priority is the environmental focus of the winery. Another is the vigorous implementation of a Burgundian style of vinification, for example whole cluster fermentation.

Family Fürst :
Paul and Moni, Sebastian and Isabell
with Frida, Lisa and Rosa

Sebastian and his wife Isabell took over the winery in 2018. Father and son continue to work together closely and are driven by their shared aspiration to constantly improve their artisanal techniques to achieve utmost quality. Wine tasting and vinification were given a new home in 2010. The attractive ensemble is a new, modern interpretation of the classical regional barn style – in wood and concrete, minimalistic and functional.

Weingut Fürst has collected many prestigious accolades. Paul was named German Winemaker of the Year in 2003 and Sebastian achieved this distinction in 2018. Paul was honoured for his life’s work in 2020.

Meticulous care of the vines is the primary focus in the vineyard. Selection of best vine material and old clones is compulsory, as is high planting density and a low vine training system. The vineyards are supplied with self-produced compost. Selective manual harvest takes place in several passes through the vineyard. Soils with high solar radiation, superbly cultivated vines and very low yields lead to a wine quality that is recognised nationally and internationally – now in over 30 countries around the world.

“Wine is a product of nature – our foundation.
We simply do what is best for the wine. And if the grapes are good, the wine will also be good. On the day of the harvest we know exactly what treasure we hold in our hands.”

– Paul Fürst

Natural, gentle, handcraft is applied to the vinification of all of our vineyards. Wines clarify themselves during the long maturation on the lees. After fermentation on the mash in open wooden vats, the red wines are basket pressed. The wines then mature for 13 to 18 months in Burgundian barrels (228 litres) and are subsequently bottled unfiltered. The white wines are fermented in large wooden casks and small barrels or in stainless steel tanks and matured for six to sixteen months.

“They just carry on crafting these gorgeous wines with uncommon sensitivity, great intuition and with just one aim in mind: elegance”

– Anne Krebiehl MW

Das Weingut Rudolf Fürst blickt auf eine lange Tradition zurück. Nachweislich schon seit 1638 betreibt die fränkische Familie Fürst den Weinanbau. Pauls Vater Rudolf, der sehr früh verstarb, hatte im Altort von Bürgstadt einen kleinen, bäuerlich gemischten Betrieb mit Viehhaltung, Obst-, Wein – und dem früher in dieser Gegend üblichen Tabakanbau.

Mit Übernahme des Weingutes 1979 errichteten Paul und Monika Fürst am Rande des Ortes die heutigen Gutsgebäude: Im Herzen des Centgrafenberges gelegen, schön eingebettet und mit herrlichem Ausblick auf die mittelalterliche Fachwerkstadt Miltenberg. Nachdem die Weinberge über viele Generationen hinweg durch Realteilung immer kleiner wurden kultivierten und renovierten die Eheleute Fürst besonders schöne, steile Parzellen, in den besten Flächen. Der Besitz wurde Schritt für Schritt von 1,5 ha auf aktuell 21 ha erweitert, davon sind über 60% Spätburgunderreben.

Bereits zu einem Zeitpunkt, an dem in Deutschland der An- und Ausbau von hochwertigen Burgunderqualitäten noch keinerlei Rolle spielten, war Paul Fürst und eine Handvoll namhafter deutscher Winzerfreunde im regen Erfahrungsaustausch mit den traditionell großen Pinot Noir Weingütern im Burgund, in Oregon und der Bündner Herrschaft. Erklärtes Ziel war, zu Lernen und Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen, um die Feinheiten der Rebsorte Spätburgunder optimal zur Geltung zu bringen. Diese Pionierarbeit begann ab 1989 erste Früchte zu tragen, der Durchbruch war geschafft.

Im Jahr 2007 kam Sebastian Fürst, nach seinem Weinbau- und Oenologiestudium in Geisenheim, Praktika im Burgund, Elsass, Spanien und Südafrika sowie bei deutschen Spitzenbetrieben, in den Familienbetrieb. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf der gezielten ökologischen Ausrichtung des Weingutes, ein anderer auf der konsequenten Durchführung eines burgundischen Ausbaustils, so zum Beispiel in der Vergärung mit ganzen Trauben.

Familie Fürst :
Paul und Moni, Sebastian und Isabell
mit Frida, Lisa und Rosa

In 2018 ging der Betrieb auf Sebastian und seine Frau Isabell über. Vater und Sohn arbeiten nach wie vor eng zusammen, getrieben von dem gemeinsamen, kompromisslosen Bestreben, die handwerklichen Techniken permanent zu verbessern, um den Weinbergen noch mehr Qualität abzuringen. 2010 bekamen die Weinverkostung und das Kelterhaus eine neue Heimat. Baulich wurde das Ensemble in der in dieser Gegend üblichen, klassischen Scheunenform neu und modern interpretiert. Mit Holz und Beton, puristisch und funktional.

Das Weingut erhielt für seine Weine viele hochwertige Auszeichnungen. Paul wurde in 2003, Sebastian in 2018 jeweils zum deutschen Winzer des Jahres gewählt und Paul bekam in 2020 die Würdigung für sein Lebenswerk.

Bei der Arbeit im Weinberg steht eine aufwendige, fast schon penibel zu bezeichnende Pflege der Rebstöcke im Vordergrund. Bestes vielschichtiges Pflanzgut von alter Genetik ist Pflicht, genauso wie hohe Stockzahlen und eine bodennahe Erziehung der Weinstöcke. Traditionell werden die Weinberge ausschließlich mit selbst erzeugtem Kompost versorgt. Es wird gestaffelt und selektiv gelesen. Dies führt bei hoher Strahlungswärme des Bodens, maximal hochwertigen Weinreben und sehr niedrigen Erträgen zu der Qualität, die unsere Weine national und international, mittlerweile in gut 30 Ländern weltweit, auszeichnet.

„Wein ist ein Naturprodukt. Unsere Grundlage.
Wir machen also einfach das, was für den Wein am besten ist. Und wenn die Traube gut ist, wird auch der Wein gut. Am Tag der Ernte wissen wir genau, welchen Schatz wir in den Händen halten“

– Paul Fürst

In der Weinbereitung gilt für alle Weinlagen unseres Weingutes eine natürliche, schonende und handwerkliche Kellerarbeit. Durch die lange Lagerung auf der Hefe klären sich die Weine selbst. Die Rotweine werden nach der offenen Maischegärung in großen Holzbottichen in der Korbpresse gekeltert und liegen anschließend für 13 bis 18 Monate in burgundischen Stückfässern (228 Liter). Danach wird unfiltriert in Flaschen gefüllt. Die Weißweine werden nach schonender Pressung sowohl in großen und kleinen Holzfässern als auch in Edelstahltanks vergoren und sechs bis sechzehn Monate gereift.