„Rudolf Fürst is an acknowledged Pinot magician in Germany, not just with Spätburgunder (Pinot Noir), but also the earlier-ripening Frühburgunder“.

– Jancis Robinson

Iron-rich red rock, a particularly mild microclimate, and dry stone walls that are listed as a historical monument distinguish the Churfranken area in the western part of the Franken (Franconia) wine region. Spätburgunder (Pinot Noir) has long been the leading variety here in Bürgstadt and Klingenberg. Our particularly racy and filigree Rieslings grow on rocky Buntsandstein (red sandstone). The highest quality Chardonnay wines from our winery are cultivated on the meagre shell limestone of the Karthäuser vineyard in Astheim near Würzburg.

PINOT NOIR GRAND CRU

At 35 hl/ha, yields are particularly low for our three red VDP.GROSSES GEWÄCHS (GG). This is a decisive base for the highest possible quality. The respective microclimate, slope gradient, and soil are reflected in site specific nuances in aroma and taste. As in the traditional style of Burgundian vinification, fermentation takes place in open wooden vats with a high proportion of whole clusters, sometimes up to 100%.

The Centgrafenberg vineyard in Bürgstadt has always been the home of our winery. This wine is our timeless classic; it displays cool power, ferrous minerality, and elegance. In contrast, the Schlossberg in Klingenberg, historically considered a “grand cru” site, benefits from the heat that accumulates in its extremely steep vineyard terraces, which results in a wine with a warm character. The aromas and flavours are vivacious and silky; sour red cherry distinguishes the fruit. “Such a small town, but due to its delicious wine, it seduces from afar,” is a modern English translation of what Matthäus Merian the Elder wrote about Klingenberg in 1646. The history of the Hundsrück vineyard, the flagship of our winery, can be traced back to the beginning of the 16th century. The Grosses Gewächs from this meagre, rocky site possesses cool power and aromas of sour cherry and wild rose. The Hundsrück is persistent on the palate and offers the aristocratic fragrance of a great Burgundy. We are generally quite proud of the long ageing potential of our wines.

Centgrafenberg GG
Schlossberg GG
Hundsrück GG

PINOT NOIR PREMIER CRU

The VDP.ERSTE LAGE Bürgstadter Berg is the “little brother” of the Centgrafenberg and Hundsrück. The grapes for this Erste Lage Pinot Noir come only exclusively from plots of these two top vineyard sites. The soil is rich in iron and the resulting wines are elegant food companions.

Bürgstadter Berg Erste Lage

VILLAGE WINES

The Bürgstadter and Klingenberger Spätburgunder Ortswein differ greatly in character. The Bürgstadter is rather cool and powerful. The Klingenberger, which is sourced from young vines in the Grosse Lage Schlossberg, is warm, fine and silky.

Bürgstadter
Klingenberger

ESTATE WINE

There is no compromise on quality for our base red wine, the Spätburgunder Tradition. The yields are still low with an average of 45 hl/ha. The wine matures for 13 months in used, small wooden barrels. The grapes also come from our estate vineyards, from plots of young vines in the Grosse Lage and Erste Lage vineyards, and also from very old vines at the foot of the slopes. This elegant and harmonious wine offers a combination of red berries with delicate spice and fruit.

Tradition

PINOT NOIR PRÉCOCE

The rarely cultivated, capricious and fickle Frühburgunder is an old clone native to Bürgstadt. It is a small-berried brother of Pinot Noir and, with an average of 22 hl/ha, produces only minimal yields. The “R” comes from the best Frühburgunder plot in the Centgrafenberg vineyard. Compared to the more delicate Pinot Noir, the Frühburgunder is spicier, darker in fruit, and slightly smokier. The wine is generally more powerful, incredibly complex, and often has a taste of dark chocolate. The grapes are particularly popular among birds, wild boars, and wasps.

Frühburgunder R
Bürgstadter Berg Erste Lage Frühburgunder

CHARDONNAY &
PINOT BLANC

The cultivation and vinification of white Burgundian varieties according to the Burgundy model is of particular importance to Weingut Rudolf Fürst. The grapes are gently crushed with the feet. The wines ferment in small oak barrels and mature on the gross lees for a minimum of 16 months before bottling. The Weisser Burgunder “R” comes from the easternmost plot of the Bürgstädter Berg and is the winery’s top Pinot Blanc. The Chardonnay R and the Astheimer Chardonnay Village Wines come from the “grand cru” vineyard Karthäuser and grow on meagre, white shell limestone. The Bürgstadt growths are racy and filigree with distinct mineral character and vibrant citrus notes, Contrarily, the Karthäuser wines are distinguished by minerality derived from shell limestone soils. They are particularly fine and silky and taste of pear and grapefruit. After adequate bottle maturation, beautiful brioche and hazelnut notes appear.

Chardonnay R
Weisser Burgunder R
Bürgstadter Berg Erste Lage Weisser Burgunder
Bürgstadter Berg Erste Lage Chardonnay
Astheimer Chardonnay

RIESLING GRAND CRU,
PREMIER CRU & VILLAGE WINE

Riesling cultivation on Bürgstadter Berg has a long tradition. The best grapes come from a terraced plot in the Centgrafenberg vineyard, which dates back to the Archbishops of Mainz. In terms of alcohol, our Riesling from the red sandstone is moderate, usually between 11% and 12.5% and. Its unique character is more similar to Rieslings from the primary rock soils of the western Rheingau and the Nahe than to the Rieslings that grow in the shell limestone of the Franken region. The wine is matured in the classic way in old double-piece barrels. The Centgrafenberg VDP.Grosses Gewächs and VDP.Erste Lage wines are mineral, with the GG exhibiting aromas of white vineyard peach and citrus. The Rieslings possess tremendous ageing potential. The Ortswein displays the typical crystalline mineral character derived from red sandstone.

Centgrafenberg GG Riesling
Bürgstadter Berg Erste Lage Riesling
Bürgstadter Riesling

PUR MINERAL
ESTATE WINES

The white Gutsweine are grown on stony soils. These vines are also subject to intensive manual labour. The same attentive vinification methods as for all our other wines apply here, too. The Gutsweine are vinified either in large wooden barrels or in stainless steel tanks. When fermented dry, these wines display elegance and pure minerality. Thus: pur mineral.

Riesling pur mineral
Weisser Burgunder pur mineral
Silvaner pur mineral

SPECIALTIES

In close proximity to the Centgrafenberg vineyard is the Wildenberg Castle, where Wolfram von Eschenbach wrote “Parzival” over 800 years ago. The red wine blend named Parzival is made primarily from the Zweigelt and Domina varieties and is naturally a contrast to our red Pinot wines. Although it is also grown on red sandstone and matured in small wooden barrels, the wine is much darker, tastes of wild berries and chocolate, and is a hearty accompaniment to food.

Our winery also produces fine sparkling wines from the Burgundian varieties according to the tradition method of bottle fermentation directly on the premises. We always decide specifically whether a vintage is to be vinified. This depends on the expected finesse of the base wines. The grapes are pressed particularly gently. We rely on extended maturation on the lees in the bottle. This ensures a fine mousse and pronounced brioche notes. Our aim is a champagne style, straight as an arrow, fine and mineral.

We produce an assortment of pure distillates from pristine fruit. Although our fine distillates could be viewed as a beloved hobby, we practice it as a handcraft in the fine Churfranken distilling tradition with emphasis on highest quality. To this end, we planted forty pear trees of the Mollebusch variety in Main Valley at the beginning of 2000. Depending on the type of fruit, our distillates are either aged in glass balloons or in small, used wooden barrels.

„Rudolf Fürst is an acknowledged Pinot magician in Germany, not just with Spätburgunder (Pinot Noir), but also the earlier-ripening Frühburgunder“.

– Jancis Robinson

Churfranken, diese kleine Weinregion ganz im Westen des Weinanbaugebietes Franken gelegen, ist geprägt durch seinen roten, eisenhaltigen Fels, den unter Denkmalschutz stehenden Trockenmauern sowie dem besonders milden Mikroklima im hiesigen Mainviereck. Der Spätburgunder aus Bürgstadt und Klingenberg ist seit langem die hervorgehobene Rebsorte.
Auf dem felsigen Buntsandstein wachsen unsere besonders rassigen und filigranen Rieslinge. Die hochwertigsten Chardonnayweine unseres Weingutes, auf kargem Muschelkalk angebaut, kommen aus der Lage Karthäuser in Astheim, in der Nähe von  Würzburg.

PINOT NOIR GRAND CRU

Unsere drei roten VDP.GROSSEN GEWÄCHSE (GG) stehen für besonders niedrige Erträge von 35 hl/ha. - die entscheidende Grundlage für höchstmögliche Qualität. Das jeweilige Mikroklima, die Hangneigung, die Ausrichtung sowie die Detailbeschaffenheit der Böden zeigen die Lagentypischen Nuancen im Aroma und im Geschmack. Im Stil der traditionellen burgundischen Vinifikation erfolgt die Vergärung in offenen Holzbottichen mit einem hohen Anteil der ganzen Trauben, teilweise bis zu 100%.

Der Centgrafenberg in Bürgstadt ist seit jeher die Heimat unseres Weingutes. Dieser Wein ist unser zeitloser Klassiker, er zeigt kühle Kraft, Mineralität von Eisen und Eleganz. Der Schlossberg, bereits historisch eine Grand-Cru-Lage, profitiert dagegen als extrem steiler Terrassenweinberg von seiner heißen Lage und dem daraus resultierenden warmen Weincharakter. Aroma und Geschmack sind feurig und seidig, die Frucht ist von roter Sauerkirsche geprägt. Merian schrieb 1646 über Klingenberg: „Ein gar kleines Städtlein, sodass herrlichen Weinwachses halber berühmt, welch köstlicher Wein weithin verführet wird“. Die Geschichte vom Hundsrück, dem Aushängeschild unseres Weingutes, geht auf Anfang des 16. Jahrhunderts zurück. Das Grosse Gewächs aus diesem kargen, felsigen Weinberg hat kühle Kraft und Aromen von Sauerkirschen sowie wilden Rosen. Der Hundsrück ist nachhaltig am Gaumen und zeigt nobles Burgunderparfüm. Insgesamt sind wir stolz auf das lange Lagerpotenzial unserer Weine.

Centgrafenberg GG
Schlossberg GG
Hundsrück GG

PREMIER CRU

Die VDP.ERSTE LAGE Bürgstadter Berg ist der kleine Bruder vom Centgrafenberg und Hundsrück. Die Trauben für diese Erste Lage unseres Spätburgunders kommen nur aus den Parzellen der beiden mit eingeschlossenen Spitzenlagen. Der Boden ist eisenhaltig, die Weine daraus sind feine Essensbegleiter.

Berg Erste Lage

ORTSWEINE

Bürgstadter- und Klingenberger Spätburgunder Ortsweine sind im Charakter sehr unterschiedlich. Der Bürgstadter ist eher kühl und kraftvoll, der Klingenberger, der aus den jungen Reben der Grossen Gewächs-Lage Schlossberg gewonnen wird, warm, fein und seidig.

Bürgstadter
Klingenberger

GUTSWEINE

Auch bei unserem Basis-Rotwein, dem Spätburgunder Tradition, gibt es keine Qualitätskompromisse. Die Erträge liegen mit durchschnittlich 45hl/ha eher niedrig. Der Wein wird 13 Monate im gebrauchten, kleinen Holzfass ausgebaut. Die Trauben kommen ebenfalls aus eigener Produktion, aus jungen Parzellen der Grossen Lagen und der Ersten Lage wie auch aus sehr alten Reben vom Hangfuß. Verbindung von roten Beeren mit zarter Würze und Frucht, elegant und harmonisch.

Tradition

FRÜHBURGUNDER

Bei dem selten angebauten, aufwendigen und launischen Frühburgunder handelt es sich um eine alte Rebsorte in Bürgstadt. Sie ist ein kleinbeeriger Bruder zum Spätburgunder und erbringt mit durchschnittlich 22hl/ha nur minimale Erträge. Der „R“ stammt aus der besten Frühburgunderparzelle des Centgrafenbergs. Im Vergleich zum feineren Pinot Noir ist der Frühburgunder würziger und dunkelbeeriger in der Frucht sowie leicht rauchiger. Der Wein präsentiert sich insgesamt kräftiger, er ist unwahrscheinlich vielschichtig und hat oft auch den Geschmack nach Zartbitterschokolade. Die Trauben sind besonders beliebt bei Vögeln, Wildschweinen und Wespen.

Frühburgunder R
Berg Erste Lage Frühburgunder

CHARDONNAY &
WEISSE BURGUNDER

Im Weingut hat die Kultivierung und der Ausbau auch der Weissen Burgundersorten nach Burgundischem Vorbild eine besondere Bedeutung. Die Trauben werden leicht mit den Füßen angequetscht, vergären im kleinen Eichenfass und kommen erst nach mindestens 16 Monaten Lagerung auf der vollen Hefe in die Flasche. Der Weisse Burgunder R stammt aus der östlichsten Parzelle des Bürgstadter Berges und steht für den feinsten Weissen Burgunder des Weingutes. Der Chardonnay R und der Astheimer Chardonnay Ortswein stammen aus der Grand-Cru-Lage Karthäuser und wachsen auf kargem, weißen Muschelkalk. Sind die Bürgstadter Gewächse rassig und filigran mit einer ausgeprägten Mineralität, meist mit animierenden Zitrusnoten, so steht der Karthäuser für seine Mineralität vom Muschelkalk, ist besonders fein und seidig, schmeckt nach Birne und Grapefruit und hat nach einiger Zeit in der Flasche schöne Briochenoten und Nussigkeit.

Chardonnay R
Weisser Burgunder R
Berg Erste Lage Weisser Burgunder
Berg Erste Lage Chardonnay
Astheimer Chardonnay

RIESLING GRAND CRU,
ERSTE LAGE & ORTSWEIN

Der Rieslinganbau am Bürgstadter Berg hat eine lange Tradition. So kommen die besten Trauben aus einer terrassierten Parzelle im Centgrafenberg, die schon auf die Erzbischöfe von Mainz zurückgeht. Im Alkohol ist unser Riesling vom Buntsandstein mit zwischen 11% und 12,5% fast immer moderat und geht in seiner charakteristischen Eigenständigkeit eher in Richtung der Urgesteinsböden des Westlichen Rheingaus sowie der Nahe als zum Frankenriesling vom Muschelkalk. Der Ausbau erfolgt klassisch im alten Doppelstückfass. Das Centgrafenberg VDP.Grosses Gewächs und die Erste Lage zeigen sich mineralisch, der Grand Cru hat Aromen von weissem Weinbergspfirsich und Citrus. Die Rieslinge zeichnen sich durch hohe Langlebigkeit aus. Der Ortswein ist mineralisch cristallin mit der Typizität des Roten Steins.

Centgrafenberg GG Riesling
Berg Erste Lage Riesling
Bürgstadter Riesling

PUR MINERAL
GUTSWEINE

Die Weissen Gutsweine sind auf steinigen Böden gewachsen. Auch diese Rebstöcke unterliegen bei uns intensiver Handarbeit. Es gelten die gleichen aufwendigen Ausbaumethoden wie bei allen anderen unserer Weine. Die Gutsweine kommen entweder in das große Holzfass oder in den Edelstahltank. Trocken ausgebaut zeigen diese Weine Eleganz und Mineralität. Eben: pur mineral.

Riesling pur mineral
Weisser Burgunder pur mineral
Silvaner pur mineral

SPEZIALITÄTEN

Nicht sehr weit vom Centgrafenberg entfernt liegt die Burg Wildenberg. Hier hat Wolfram von Eschenbach vor über 800 Jahren den „Parzival“ geschrieben. Die Rotweincuvee Parzival besteht hauptsächlich aus Zweigelt- sowie Dominatrauben und ist somit ein natürlicher Kontrast zu unseren Roten Burgundern. Zwar auch auf komplett rotem Buntsandstein an- und im kleinen Holzfass ausgebaut stellt sich der Wein deutlich dunkler dar, schmeckt nach Waldbeeren und Schokolade und ist insgesamt ein herzhafter und kräftiger Essensbegleiter.

Unser Weingut steht ebenso für feine Burgundersekte, die im Betrieb selbst versektet werden. Immer wieder entscheiden wir ganz gezielt, ob ein Jahrgang ausgebaut wird. Dies ist vor allem abhängig von der erwarteten Finesse der Grundweine. Die Pressung der Trauben erfolgt besonders sanft. Wir setzen auf eine lange Flaschenlagerung auf der Hefe. Das sorgt für eine feine Perlage und ausgeprägte Briochenoten. Unser Ziel ist ein pfeilgerader Champagnertyp, fein und mineralisch.

Unsere Edelobstbrände sehen wir mehr als Ergebnis eines Steckenpferdes. Ein solches aber in handwerklicher, Churfränkischer Brennertradition mit dem Schwerpunkt auf höchste Qualität. So haben wir Anfang 2000 im Maintal vierzig Hochstamm-Birnbäume der Sorte Mollebusch angepflanzt. Je nach Obstsorte erfolgt der Ausbau entweder lupenrein im Glasballon oder im alten, kleinen Holzfaß.